How to send confidential and private emails in Gmail. Gmail now allows you to send private emails. You will be able to add more security to your emails, so that only the intended recipient will be able to read them. Every time you write a new email, you will see a new option that with just one click will make your emails more secure.
The new feature is also easy to use, so if you're not very tech-savvy, it shouldn't be a big deal. I hope it makes you feel safer when sending an email, so you don't have to worry about who will read it once you send it.
How to send private emails in Gmail
Once logged into your Gmail account, click the button "You write" as usual. To the right of the button "Send", various icons will be displayed, and the last one should be a lock icon.
After clicking on the lock icon, a new Confidential Mode window will appear with options for setting an expiration date.
The expiration option will cause the email you sent to disappear from the other person's inbox.
You can have the email self-destruct in one day, one week, one month, three months or five years. The options would have been better if Google had added a custom option where you can type in the specific expiration date of the email. Hopefully this option will be added soon.
La confidential mode also allows you to add an SMS passcode to your email. With this option, the recipient will receive a code on their phone which they must enter to open the email.
To enable this feature, click the bubble next to the SMS Passcode option. Don't forget to double check that you have selected the desired options and click the blue “Save” button. A new window should appear with the missing information that you need to fill in.
This is where you will need to enter the other person's phone number. If the recipient resides in another country, click the drop-down menu next to the flag and choose the country where the other person lives. Enter your phone number and click Submit.
When you're done, you should see a message telling you when the email will expire. It will also tell you that the recipient will not be able to forward, copy or download all of the email content.
How to cancel your confidential email
Immediately after sending the email, you will have a copy. With copying, you can undo everything and prevent the handset from opening it completely. Click the "Remove Access" button and the other person will receive a message in the email that the sender has set a time limit. In other words, they will no longer be able to open the email.
From the moment you click on the option, the access will be removed. If you change your mind, you can give the recipient access again. Just click on the “Renew access” option in the copy of the email you received. There doesn't seem to be a limit to the number of times you can cancel and renew access to the email.